29 Years of DJing

then_now

Then and Now… repping Prince since I first started deejaying in 1984.

Throughout my life, through the good and the bad – music has always been there for me. For this I am grateful. I was always shy around girls and I couldn’t dance – but when you start to dj some things change in your life. Well, not everything because I’m still shy around beautiful women and I still can’t dance – but I can play music like a mutha f*cka! DJing was a hobby that became a profession for me and this is not a career for the weak minded. There are no sick days, no paid vacation time, no steady paycheck every two weeks, no retirement plan. You hustle, or you don’t work. I would like to thank everyone that has helped me or inspired me over the years. I even want to thank the haters, because you made me stronger. I’ve seen peers drop out of djing for various reasons over the years, people that I admired and always wished would return to the field. But I understand why they left, it’s a grind and like the other three elements of hip-hop (rapping, graffiti, breaking) you’re always paying dues. Doesn’t matter if you’ve been doing it 10, 15, 20+ years… you always have to pay dues and it’s not easy. Are there things I wish I had done differently over the years – absolutely. Would I have still been a DJ – no doubt about it. I am me, and I am a DJ.

Leave a Reply

