This and That

america

To the woman that called me “close minded” because I wouldn’t “play some other kind of music…” if you walk into a Prince and Michael Jackson party – that’s what you’re gonna hear. Maybe you should be aware of what you’re walking into. Whenever Prince plays I Would Die 4 U in concert as soon as the music drops you best believe you’re gonna hear dudes screaming like women. Some djs, they like to drop the bass. When I dj, panties drop. First major record labels try to kill vinyl with CD’s so they can resell all the same albums and now they can’t stop talking about vinyl’s comeback. LOL… get with the times, youtube and soundcloud fools. Adapt or die. I’m sorry, but it’s weird to see/hear the Jackson’s performing Michael’s solo material. Unless it’s pressed on vinyl it’s not a Record Release Party, it’s an Album Release Party. Thank you. You may now go back to buying drinks for your friends. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with this, this is just my personal preference. But I will never put my name on my laptop and I will never post a photo of my Serato screen showing what song I’m playing. The album Tetra by C2C, best album of the year hands down. On Dec 31st you will agree with me. Nothing will be better than this. The KFC Yum! Center… really? Some of this venue naming is just stupid. I love meeting new people and talking with old friends at my gigs but we have to split our conversions into 2 minute sections. My sets aren’t pre planned so once a song is about 2 minutes in I have to start searching for the next song to beat mix in on the break or to mix in if the song playing is a short song. But if I’m playing the 21 minute version of America by Prince, we can get into a deep convo for sure. Billy Jam always told me when you have lemons, you make lemonade. But some of y’all are putting in too much sugar. When you stretch the truth too far, we can all see how fake it is.

Leave a Reply

